有关育儿的法律是复杂且不断变化的。 在过去的日子里,谁是孩子的父母这个问题很简单。 分娩的女人是母亲,丈夫是父亲。 当时的社会气候以及没有任何形式的DNA测试,这意味着这种情况将不会受到挑战。 即使在社会上不正确,从法律上讲,世界也是一个简单得多的地方。

唯一的例外,也是除出生以外在法律上唯一公认的父母来源,就是领养。 收养是秘密的和封闭的。 不会告诉孩子自己,也可能永远不会知道与他们长大的父母不是他们的亲生父母。 法律通过确保收养过程是秘密的和封闭的,从而促进了这种形式的育儿,并且所提供的文件掩盖了亲生父母和收养父母的身份。

随着社会气候和社会规范的变化,人们对可接受的家庭结构的态度也发生了变化。 选择共同生活而不是结婚的夫妇变得更加普遍。 同性关系 在法律上得到认可并为社会所接受。 家庭开始看起来很不一样。

社会科学的变化与医学科学的进步并驾齐驱。 对于以前根本无法想象孩子成为自己未来一部分的夫妇来说,自己生孩子的可能性成为现实。 试管婴儿的发展给没有孩子的异性夫妇带来了希望。 由此产生的科学为同性伴侣生育自己的孩子提供了机会; 代孕服务在国内和国际上都可以使用,以及脱氧核糖核酸检测的出现,都意味着一个孩子的唯一父母可以是分娩的女人,而她的丈夫在一代人之内的观念就完全过时了,不足了。

法律不得不改变。

1989年《儿童法》代表了有关儿童法的彻底改变。 最初,这是一项合并立法,将各种不同的成文法中的儿童法律统统纳入一个地方,但是很快,很明显,《儿童法》远不止于此。 它代表了法律针对儿童的行为方式的变化,包括子女的父母身份。

1989年《儿童法》引入了父母责任的法律概念。 这个概念在今天仍然存在,尽管已经存在了25年以上,但是它仍然经常被人们误解和引用。

父母责任是一个法律术语,意味着对孩子(孩子为18岁以下的孩子)具有所有合法权利,义务,权力和责任。 父母责任与作为父母不同。 父母并不总是具有父母责任。 有父母责任的人可能不是父母。 父母的责任可以委托给其他照料者,也可以通过法院命令的执行(例如地方当局)赋予他人。

对孩子负有父母责任的人数没有限制。 可以说,这是一个法律概念,它定义了某人对孩子负有的责任,但并不等同于父母。

父母身份决定谁是孩子的合法母亲和合法父亲。 根据孩子的怀孕和生育的情况,预定父母成为合法父母的方式可能会大不相同。

过去几年中,在法院审理的许多案件中,法院不得不确定育儿问题。 如果对孩子的父母是谁有争议,法院通常会面临一方提出的宣告父母身份的申请。 一个这样的案件涉及一位父亲,他在孩子出生前已经与母亲有多年的关系。 关系破裂后,他不得不申请宣布父母身份。 这对夫妇自然无法受孕,并接受了试管婴儿治疗,最后以母亲通过捐精的方式怀孕。 就父亲而言,在接受治疗时的明确意图是,他将成为孩子的合法父母。 父母双方都在生育诊所签署了所有必要的表格。 这对夫妇在孩子出生后不久就分开了,当孩子一岁时,父亲的联系彻底中断了。 父亲向法院提出申请,要求宣告父母身份和法院命令,允许他见孩子。 在诉讼过程中,母亲否认两人确实在诊所签署了确认父亲合法父母身份的表格。 母亲实际上是在试图把父亲从孩子的生活中清除掉。 诊所在诉讼过程中并不是特别有帮助,但最终产生的信息证实了表格已正确签名。 在这一点上,法院正式确定了父母的协议,并宣布了对父亲有利的父母身份。 父亲随后也能够与孩子重新建立联系。

当在治疗过程中丢失同意书和病历时,可能会出现困难。 2016年XNUMX月,法院不得不裁定一桩案件,并宣告父母身份为一名妇女,该妇女原本打算成为其民事伴侣子女的合法父母,但在生殖健康后被勒令为养父母诊所放错了她的同意书。 申请人的母亲向法院申请宣布其伴侣是其子女的合法父母,并撤销了先前作出的命令,该命令令其伴侣为养父母。 出现问题的原因是,信托的记录中没有包含母亲伴侣签署的相关表格,当时法律的普遍观点是,唯一的选择是申请命令将母亲伴侣定为养父母。 随后发布了领养令,但随后被撤销,并做出了育儿声明。 这是一个非常不寻常的案件,因为法院极少会撤销一旦作出的收养令。

周围的法律 代孕 近年来,它也一直是法院解释的主题。 在英国,代孕协议很重要,但没有法律约束力。 它们不能由英国的律师起草,但在其他司法管辖区通常是起草的。 尽管没有法律约束力,但它们显然是重要的证据,并列出了已达成共识的参数,即,代理人与委托父母之间是否已订立合同,规定了彼此的期望。 在代孕安排中,代孕母亲在出生时始终是合法父母。 根据她的婚姻状况,她的伴侣可能是出生时的第二父母。 将父母责任转移给委托夫妇的唯一方法是将其视为出生子女的父母,这是法院作出父母命令。

法律规定,父母命令的申请人必须是夫妻。 或彼此的民事伙伴; 或两个人在持久的家庭关系中作为伴侣生活。 最近,单身人士因代孕安排而出生的孩子申请父母监护,这已受到考验。 法院在最高级别上裁定,英国法律要求只能以两个人的名义作出父母命令,这是歧视性的,但是法院不能改变这一点,这是议会的事。 政府表示,他们打算更新有关父母命令的法律,以确保其与法院的判决相符,并表示有意引入补救命令以实现这一目标,以便单身人士也可以在与父母相同的基础上申请父母命令。夫妻。 政府的明确意图是,将在2017年初向议会提出一项有关补救令的立法。由于尚未出台此类立法,因此,人们的立场仍然是单身人士无法向法院申请父母令。根据代孕安排赋予他们合法的父母身份。

这些只是法院最近不得不处理的一些问题。 医学和社会关系的发展意味着将来会有更多。 在着手建立家庭时,确保考虑决策的法律影响以及所涉及的医疗问题始终很重要。

The law surrounding parentage is complex and ever-changing. In days gone by the question of who were a child’s parents was simple. The woman who gave birth was the mother and her husband was the father. The social climate of the time, and the absence of any form of DNA testing, meant this scenario would go unchallenged. Even if it wasn’t socially correct, legally the world was a far simpler place.

The only exception to this, and the only legally recognised source of parentage save by birth, was adoption. Adoptions were secretive and closed. The children themselves would not be told and likely would never know that the parents they grew up with were not their birth parents. The law facilitated this form of parenting by ensuring the adoption process was secretive and closed and the documentation produced concealed both the identity of the birth parents and the adoptive parents.

As the social climate and social norms began to change so did people’s attitudes towards what was acceptable as a family structure. Couples who chose to live together rather than being married became more the norm. Same-sex relationships became recognised in law and socially acceptable. Families began to look very different.

Advances in medical science ran alongside this change in social norms. The possibility of a child of their own became a reality for couples who previously simply could not have envisaged children being part of their future. The development of IVF gave hope to heterosexual childless couples; the resulting science provided opportunities for same sex couples to have their own children; the availability of surrogacy both nationally and internationality and the advent of DNA testing all meant that the concept that the only parents of a child can be the woman who gave birth and her husband has within a generation become totally antiquated and inadequate.

The law has had to change.

The Children Act 1989 represented a complete sea change in respect of the law on children. Initially billed as a piece of consolidating legislation, pulling strands of child law from various disjointed statutes into one place, it quickly became apparent that the Children Act was far more than this. It represented a change in the way in which the law operated around children, including in respect of their parentage.

It was the Children Act 1989 which introduced the legal concept of parental responsibility. This concept still exists today and notwithstanding its existence now for more than 25 years, it is a concept that is still commonly misunderstood and misquoted.

Parental responsibility is a legal term that means having all the legal rights, duties, powers and responsibilities for a child (a child being a person under the age of 18). Parental Responsibility is not the same as being a parent. A parent does not always have Parental Responsibility. Someone who has Parental Responsibility may not be a parent. Parental Responsibility can be delegated to an alternative carer or given to somebody by operation of an order of the Court, e.g. a local authority.

There is no limit to the number of people who can have parental responsibility for a child. In terms, it is a legal concept defining the responsibilities someone can have for a child but does not equate to parentage.

Parentage determines who is a child’s legal mother and legal father. Dependent upon the circumstances surrounding a child’s conception and birth, the way in which the intended parents become the legal parents can be very different.

There have been a number of cases before the Courts in the last few years where the Courts have had to determine issues of parentage. Where there is a dispute over who the parents of the child are, the Court is often faced with an application by one party for a declaration of parentage. One such case involved a father, who had been in a relationship with the mother for some years prior to the birth of their child. He had to make an application for a declaration of parentage following the breakdown of the relationship. The couple had been unable to conceive naturally and received IVF treatment which concluded with the mother conceiving by sperm donation. As far as the father was concerned, the clear intention at the time of the treatment was that he would be the legal parent of the child. All the necessary forms were signed by both parents at the fertility clinic. The couple separated soon after the child was born and the father’s contact completely broke down when the child was one year old. The father made an application to the Court for a declaration of parentage and a Court order permitting him to see the child. During the course of the proceedings, the mother denied that the forms confirming legal parentage of the father had actually been signed by both of them at the clinic. The mother was effectively trying to wipe the father out of the child’s life. The clinic wasn’t particularly helpful during the course of the proceedings but eventually produced the information which confirmed that the forms had been correctly signed. At this point, the Court formalised the parents’ agreement and made a declaration of parentage in favour of the father. The father was then also able to re-establish contact with the child.

Difficulties can arise when consent forms and medical records are lost during the process of treatment. In September 2016 the Court had to determine a case and make a declaration of parentage in favour of a woman who had always been intended to be the legal parent of her civil partner’s child but who had been ordered to be an adoptive parent after the reproductive health clinic misplaced her consent forms. The applicant mother applied to the Court for a declaration that her partner was the legal parent of her child and for a revocation of the order previously made that her partner was an adoptive parent. The problem had arisen because the trust’s records did not contain the relevant form signed by the mother’s partner and the prevailing view of the law at the time was that the only option was to apply for an order that the mother’s partner is made an adoptive parent. The adoption order was subsequently issued but then revoked and a declaration of parentage made. This was a highly unusual case because it is very very rare that the Court will revoke an adoption order once made.

The law surrounding surrogacy has also been the subject of the Court’s interpretation in recent times. In the UK, surrogacy agreements are important but not legally binding. They cannot be drafted by lawyers in the UK but in other jurisdictions they often are. Although not legally binding, they are clearly a significant piece of evidence and set out the parameters of what has been agreed, i.e. is a contract is formed between the surrogate and the commissioning parents which sets out the expectations of each other. In a surrogacy arrangement, the surrogate mother is always the legal parent at birth. Dependent upon her marital status, her partner may be the second parent at birth. The only way to transfer parental responsibility to the commissioning couple, who can then be regarded as the parents of a child born, is by the making of a parental order by the Court.

The law provides that applicants for a parental order must be husband and wife; or civil partners of each other; or two persons living as partners in an enduring family relationship. This has been put to the test in recent times with a single person applying for a parental order in respect of a child born as a result of a surrogacy arrangement. The Court has determined at the highest level that UK law requiring that parental orders can only be made in favour of two people is discriminatory but that the Courts cannot change this, it is a matter for parliament. The government have said that they intend to update the legislation on parental orders to ensure it is compatible with the Court’s judgement and indicating an intention to introduce a remedial order to achieve this so that single people can also apply for parental orders on the same basis as couples. The stated intention of the government was that a piece of legislation in respect of remedial orders would be introduced to parliament early in 2017. As yet no such legislation has been introduced and so the position remains that single people cannot apply to the Court for parental orders to confer legal parentage upon them following a surrogacy arrangement.

These are just some of the issues that the Court has had to deal with in recent times. The progression of medical science and social relationships means that there will be many more in the future. It is always important when embarking on starting a family to make sure that the legal impact of decision making is considered as well as the medical issues involved.