我确定您知道自己是 同性家庭有时会面临挑战,不要误解我的意思,这是我们无法克服或克服的,因为在我们眼中,我们对孩子的爱以及我们的父母(通过理论和现实生活中的实践课程)都感到相同。

这让我想到了母亲的直觉和“妈妈最懂”类型的情况,这是我们家庭单位永远缺乏的。 “母亲的本能”到底是什么? 收养的妇女有本能吗? 女人使用 卵子捐赠者 和代孕母亲的拉力相同? 还是这种“冲动”只是“爱”,却包装不同? 无论哪种方式,我都觉得适用。

父本能比母本能少真实,深刻,纯洁而有力?

我们可以无休止地推测这种本能是如何产生的。 不管是什么原因,是否会使父亲献身于孩子的事实变得不那么真实了? 养育孩子是做人的一个重要而充实的方面,这是否真的不那么正确呢? 父性本能是否比母性本能更真实,更深,更纯净,更强大? 我们一直对家庭和对生物学的感受非常诚实,因为我们拥有独特的设置,并非所有人都通过生物学联系在一起-但我们无疑都与爱联系在一起并交织在一起。 我认为,对于某人的外表或与他们的外表相似,我的看法要深刻得多,更有鉴赏力并且同样显而易见。

我寻求某些答案的要求越来越离奇了,我在Google搜索中最终得到了关于动物界的一些例子,在这些例子中,父亲在抚养年幼(与母亲或有时代替母亲)中起着不可或缺的作用。 。

Twodadsuk家庭
Twodadsuk家庭

我们都知道独特的海马,以及它们如何使卵受精和孵化直到卵在45天后出现。 他们甚至还经历着收缩,这是我迄今为止所不知道的。 然后是传说中的企鹅皇帝(Emperor Penguin),照顾卵达两个月之久,在雌鸟离开以补充其储备之后,父亲会在不喂食的情况下将卵紧握在他的脚和育雏袋之间,整个残酷无情冬季(风速达到每小时120英里时)。 他的奉献精神,平衡能力和技巧确保了新一代的生存-多么了不起的爸爸! 但是没有什么比贾卡纳州更宽容的了。 雄性贾卡纳(Jacana)会做所有艰苦的工作,筑巢,保持巢整齐,孵化卵子并照顾小鸡。 雌性美洲虎在四处游荡并与尽可能多的雄性交配。 雄性成为忠实的家庭主妇,甚至在雌性移居后选择长期居住。 他们经常照顾其他雄性受精的卵。 可怜的家伙,呆在家里给爸爸一个全新的含义和尊重。

育儿有其挑战,我们都知道–我们目前正处在蹒跚学步之中,如果您读过Matt Coyne的《男人与蹒跚学步》一书,您将完全明白我的意思。 他对搞笑的养育行为真是天才,我们读完了他所有的书,发现每本书都具有相关性和实用性。

因此,塔卢拉(Talulah)在十月份才三岁,她像大多数三纳格尔人一样,非常独立,喜欢让自己知道她的存在–朋友告诉我,这是典型的小女孩,这本身就使我着迷。 她想自己动手做所有事情,系鞋带,穿衣服,梳头,梳头,用19根泡泡和抓发器把头发摆上花哨的样子,她甚至想自己准备和煮饭。 但是,丝丝细细的事会使塔拉拉(Talulah)脱胎换骨–我剥香蕉皮的速度,我剥香蕉皮的事实以及什至是香蕉的事实都会导致她将自己扔到地板上,遮住脸庞,然后尖叫直至流鼻涕,运球从她的脸上加速,告诉我她讨厌香蕉(她爱香蕉!),并且类似于一些神话般的龙状生物,类似于《权力的游戏》中的火呼吸野兽。 欢迎来到2、3和4的长途旅行。

塔卢拉
塔卢拉

我认为我需要走上顽皮的步骤,爸爸……

如果您在Instagram和Facebook(@ TwoDads.UK)上关注我们,您会发现我们最近遇到了一个问题,塔卢拉(Talulah)决定在手指,脚趾上涂上颜料,最后在地毯上涂上令人震惊的粉红色指甲油。 我知道她很安静,我应该知道得更多,但是我只需要30秒的时间,而我在私下撒尿时,感觉像是我30秒钟冲到我们的浴室时,她设法做到了进入她的姐妹室,将25瓶指甲油全部塞入,然后打开您所见过的最亮的粉红色和橙色上光剂。 我走进房间,我实在喘不过气来,以为自己会窒息。 她非常了解自己的所作所为,知道自己做错了事,但对色彩的美丽着迷。 我冲着去拿一瓶发胶(因为它能从地毯上很好地清除指甲油-谁知道吗?)后,她来到厨房,坐在我的膝盖上,供认了这一切。 在我什至不能告诉她,或者问她为什么要这么做以及如何使别人感到(我认为这对于自我反省和拥有自己的举止以及他们带来的意想不到的后果很重要)之前,她只是交出了指甲清漆并说:“我认为我需要走上顽皮的步骤,爸爸……”,然后她离开了自己-进行了自己承认的超时会议。 完善!

T的魅力在于她会倾听,接受所有内容,然后重复您告诉她的内容,也许是她的年龄-但是无论哪种方式,她都会使我们感到骄傲,尽管发脾气和尖叫声-她会听到刺耳的声音在她自己的头骨上放大,并使自己平静下来。 但这是一个您可以推理的蹒跚学步的孩子,有时涉及奶酪–我认为孩子/父母的贿赂不会给孩子带来一点伤害–毕竟,没有父母是完美的。

我们做的事情是对的,我们要根据所处的情况做我们必须做的事情。我们不是在评判那些相信控制哭泣技术的人,也不是对婴儿低语者发誓的人–这不适合我们,而我们我都尝试过。 塔卢拉不是我们唯一与我们同住的袖珍型人,您会发现我们正在养育疯子。 我们也有一个十四岁的孩子,这是我们最近正在经历的整个痛苦世界–每天让我发脾气。 14岁的女孩是另外一回事–我们从未经历过一个充满新鲜感(和痛苦)的世界。 1995岁时,我是否如此困难且充满挑战? 主要是因为这一代“ Z世代”(2012年-24年出生)受社交媒体的影响如此之大,并且大多数人都沉迷于其手机和技术,其Instagram提要或他们的Snapchat –在我们的情况下,这三者均如此。 通过电话禁令(因为在我们最近的案件中不尊重他人)将他们带走,您可能会认为我们只是犯下了最恐怖的仇恨犯罪–或至少我们被仇恨了,而我们只是“毁了她的生活”。 XNUMX小时后–她又是一个梦想。

我们的儿子在14月中旬出现,我们的代理人在整个怀孕期间再次表现出惊人的表现,并且使我们始终保持活跃的状态,主要是在深夜类似于塔卢拉。 因此,到了八月,我们将有一个无法预测的XNUMX岁孩子,一个令人恐惧的蹒跚学步的孩子,渴望成为下一个班克斯和我们的新生儿-所有这些孩子都有不同的需求和所需的不同育儿技巧,而且我敢肯定,我们会做的完美。 杜松子酒一定会帮助(对我们来说,不是他们!)

就像母亲一样,我们认识到每一次尖叫,每一次哭泣和每一次寻求帮助

然而,无论是我还是我的丈夫(显然)都不会经历我们经常在讲道的育儿书,杂志和NCT课上听到的母性本能。 然而,我们可以比较的是我们作为父亲的父母本能。 这种像动物一样的保护,可以为我们的家庭做最好的事情,无论是喂食,拥抱还是安慰他们,我们始终在为孩子们服务。 就像母亲一样,我们认识到每一次尖叫,每一次哭泣和每一次求助电话-我们知道为什么每一次泪水都会弄湿他们的脸颊,并且与妈妈类似,我们也可以分辨出这是饥饿的哭泣,疲惫的哭泣还是我刚刚充满了我的尿布声。 这仅仅是爱,一种与我们的婴儿相吻合的爱。

因此,尽管我们可以向母亲学习有关育儿的知识,但我们可以阅读和学习所有可用的书籍,但从聆听自己的养育方面,我们也可以学到很多东西。 让自己更多地信任自己作为父母的本能和直觉反应,我们会收获很多。

Paternal Instinct
Paternal Instinct

As I’m sure you’re aware being a same-sex family sometimes has its challenges, don’t get me wrong its nothing we can’t overcome or combat, because in our eyes the love we feel for our children, and the way we parent (both through theory and real-life practical lessons) is the same.

It got me thinking about Maternal instinct and ‘Mum knows best’ type situations, something forever lacking in our family unit. What even is ‘maternal instinct’? Do women who adopt have the same instincts; do women who use an egg donor and a surrogate have the same maternal pull? Or is this ‘urge’ simply ‘Love’, but packaged differently? Either way, I feel all apply.

Is paternal instinct any less authentic, deep, pure and powerful than maternal instinct?

We can speculate endlessly about how this instinct came about. Whatever the reason, does it make it any less true that fathers are devoted to their children? Does it make any less true that nurturing children is an important and fulfilling aspect of being a man? Is paternal instinct any less authentic, deep, pure and powerful than maternal instinct? We have always been very honest about our family and our feeling on biology as we have a unique set up, where not all of us are linked through biology – but we most certainly are all linked and entwined together with love. Something I believe is far more profound, more appreciative and equally as obvious as to how someone looks, or who they resemble physically.

My quest to find some of the answers got more and more bizarre and my google search ended up with me reading about examples within the animal kingdom where Fathers play an integral role in raising their young – along with or in sometimes in place of – a mother.

Twodadsuk Family
Twodadsuk Family

We’re all aware of how incredibly unique seahorses are, and how they fertilize and incubate the eggs until they emerge 45 days later. They even experience contractions too which I never knew until now. And then there’s the legendary Emperor Penguin, taking care of the Egg for up to two months, after the female leaves to replenish her reserves, the father will hold the egg in between his feet and his brooding pouch, without feeding, throughout the brutal unforgiving winter (when freezing winds can reach 120mph). His dedication, balance and skills ensure the survival of a new generation – what an amazing Dad! But there’s no one more forgiving than the Jacana. Male Jacana’s do all the hard work of making nests, keeping it tidy, incubating the eggs and caring for the chicks. Whilst Female jacanas gallivant around and mate with as many males as they can. The males make loyal homemakers, even choosing to stay and nest long after females have left on their migration. They often care for eggs fertilized by other males. Poor guy, it gives a whole new meaning and respect to stay at home Dads.

Parenting has its challenges, we all know that – we’re currently in the midst of Toddlerdom, if you’ve read the book Man vs. Toddler by Matt Coyne, you’ll know exactly what I mean. His hilarious true accounts of parenting are genius, we’ve had all his books and found each one relevant and useful in its own way.

So Talulah is three in October, and like most threenagers, she’s fiercely independent and likes to make her presence known – friends tell me this is typical of little girls which that itself fascinates me. She wants to do everything herself, tie her shoes, dress herself, comb her hair, style her hair, put it up in fancy updo with 19 bobbles and hair grips, she even wants to prepare and cook all her own meals it now seems. The slightest thing, however, will set Talulah off – the speed I peel her banana, the fact I peeled her banana and the fact it’s even a banana will result in her throwing herself to the floor, covering her face and then screaming till snot and dribble accelerate from her face, telling me she hates bananas (she loves bananas!) and resembling some mythical dragon-like creature similar to a fire breathing beast from Game of Thrones. Welcome to the 2’s, 3’s and 4’s – a long ride.

Talulah
Talulah

I think I need to get on the naughty step Daddy…

If you follow us on Instagram and Facebook (@TwoDads.U.K) you would have seen that we recently had an issue with Talulah deciding to paint her fingers, toes and finally the carpet in shocking pink nail varnish. I knew she was being quiet, and I should have known better, but I just needed 30 seconds of me time, whilst I pee’d in private, and what felt like 30 seconds of me dashing to our bathroom she’d managed to get into her sisters room, bring all 25 bottles of her nail polish into the snug, and open the brightest bottle of pink and orange polish you’ve ever seen. I walked into the room and I literally gasped so hard I thought I was going to choke. She knew full well what she had done, she knew it was wrong but was mesmerized by the beauty of the colours. She came into the kitchen after I’d dashed to get a bottle of hairspray (as it removes nail varnish beautifully from carpet – who knew?!), sat on my knee and confessed it all. Before I could even tell her off, or ask her why she did this and how this would make others feel (as I feel its important to self-reflect and own your actions and the unintended consequences they bring), she simply handed over the nail varnishes and said ‘I think I need to get on the naughty step Daddy…’ and off she took herself – for her self-confessed time out session. Perfect!

The beauty of T is that she listens, takes it all on board, and then repeats what you’ve told her, maybe it’s her age – but she makes us proud either way, and despite the tantrums and the screaming – she will hear through the piercing noises, amplified in her own skull – and will calm herself down. But this is a toddler you can reason with, it sometimes involves cheese – I don’t think a tiny bit of child/parenting bribery hurts – after all, no parent is perfect.

We do what feels right, and we do what we have to given the situation we’re in. We’re not judging those who believe in controlled crying techniques, or swear by the baby whisperer – it’s just not for us, and we’ve tried both. Talulah isn’t our only pocket-sized human that lives with us, you see we’re parenting lunatics. We have a fourteen-year-old too, and this is a whole world of pain we’re recently experiencing – pass me banana tantrum any day. Fourteen-year-old girls are something else – a whole world of newness (and pain) we’ve never experienced. Was I this difficult and challenging at 14? Mainly because this generation ‘Generation Z’ (born 1995 – 2012) are so heavily influenced by social media, and most are addicted to their phones and technology, their Instagram feed or their Snapchat – or in our case all three. Take them away, by means of a phone ban (for being disrespectful in our recent case) and you’d have thought we’d just committed the most horrific of hate crimes – or at least we were hated and that we’ve just ‘ruined her life’. 24 hours later – she’s a dream again.

Our son makes an appearance mid-August, our surrogate has been amazing throughout the pregnancy again, and has kept us up to date with his activeness, mainly late at night similar to Talulah. So, come August we’ll have an unpredictable 14-year-old, a terrorizing toddler who has aspirations to be the next Banksy and our newborn – all with varying needs and different parenting skills required, and I’m sure we’ll manage perfectly. Gin will certainly help (for us, not them!)

Like Mothers do, we recognise every scream, every cry and every call for help

Yet neither me or my husband (apparently) will ever experience the maternal instinct we hear so often in often preachy parenting books, magazines and NCT classes. What we can compare this to however is the parental instinct we have as Dads. This animal-like protection to do what’s best for our family, whether its feed, cuddle or comfort them we’re always there for our children. Like Mothers do, we recognise every scream, every cry and every call for help – we know why each tear has dampened their cheeks, and similar to Mums, we too can tell whether it’s a hungry cry, a tired cry or a I’ve just filled my nappy cry. It’s simply love, a love that’s in tune with our babies.

So, whilst we can learn from mothers about parenting, we can read and study all the books available, we also have a lot to learn from listening to our own nurturing side. We have a lot to gain from letting ourselves trust more our own instinctive and intuitive reactions as parents.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here