英国的代孕是最容易回避的话题,我觉得这种社会尴尬归结于缺乏了解。 什么是代孕? 哪些国家可以实践这种美好的善良和无私的举动?

如果您曾经阅读过我们的任何博客,或者一直在关注我们的 英国TwoDads 您会发现我们对代孕充满热情。 它将梦想带入现实,建立家庭,并完成那些觉得自己缺少的人。 我已经看到并目睹了它带来的快乐,爱和幸福的影响,并且与不育带来的一些挑战相似,当同性恋者追求父亲身份时,常常会遇到自己的挑战和痛苦。 心痛,毁灭,不完整和完全悲伤是我在生育之旅中经历的所有情感。

作为工作的一部分,我们本人和韦斯都会在全国各地的活动中发言。 皇家护理学院,生育会议和诸如汇丰银行这样的大型公司只是我们要介绍的一些人。 我们喜欢教育他人有关英国代孕和同性育儿的知识,而且我们说话的大多数人通常都会回避 代孕。 它要么是令人难以置信的好奇,要么是令人不安的谈论。 目前有越来越多的电视制作公司制作有关代孕的纪录片,越来越多的电视剧在其剧本中宣布代孕主题,甚至BBC广播电台也在报道《弓箭手》中的一个故事,很明显,代孕正在被更加公开地讨论。 即使规模达到极限,玛格丽特·阿特伍德(Margaret Atwoods)的小说也被改编成电视剧,反乌托邦的戏剧《女仆的尾巴》也卷土重来。 这提醒了代孕不是。 因此,我认为在英国这里写“无私代孕”之美并消除其中一些神话是很恰当的。

令人沮丧的问题是,代孕目前受到过时法律的支持,该法律在英国首次商业代孕安排之后于80年代首次发布,并在第28条的顶峰留下了印记(如果您是同性恋者或LGBTQ社区,您将确切地知道那是多么的恐怖),因此,直到2010年才允许同性恋夫妇申请育儿令也就不足为奇了。

它被称为“ 1985年代孕安排法”。 这是相当不灵活的,显然还没有完全与时俱进,尽管由于像 娜塔莉(Natalie Gamble) 来自NGA Law。 该法律目前正在改革中,法律委员会和苏格兰法律委员会已发布了一份有关英格兰,苏格兰,北爱尔兰和威尔士拟议变更的咨询文件。

咨询会长达475页,是一份详尽的工作,尽最大努力做到包容和现代,同时尊重预期的父母和代理人。 在英国的每个角落都有一系列引人入胜的咨询会议,我以观察员的身份参加了几次会议,最近还作为其他代孕倡导者和盟友参加了他们在伦敦举行的活动。 咨询活动参加人数很多,代孕组织内部的成员以及反对该组织的人都参加了会议,这引起了一些非常有趣的辩论-我很高兴地报告反馈是积极的。 公众已经能够为在11月2020日结束的磋商做出贡献,而且很可能要到XNUMX年底才能提交议会。

指出这一点听起来可能很奇怪,但是尽管人们的看法可能是这样,但在英国代孕并不是违法的,当然我们所说的某些事件肯定是英国代孕实际上是违法的。 尽管在英国商业代孕是非法的,但利他主义代孕在英国是免费实行的。 生育诊所通常主要在信誉良好的代孕计划的支持下提供宿主或妊娠代孕(通常带有供体卵)。

替代代孕是传统代孕,传统代孕通常是在诊所外使用家庭授精的方法进行的,因此与具有5天囊胚的FET相比,其受监管少,怀孕几率低。 选择传统代孕(TS)或妊娠代孕(GS)的原因可能归结为许多因素。 这些费用可能是预算,(英国代孕的总费用平均在10万英镑至35英镑之间,以后是捐赠者卵与代孕费用的GS之旅),代孕情况或预期的总体父母偏好。 预期的父母可以负担其代理的合理费用,该费用在确认怀孕后约十等分。 代理人的费用根据个人的不同在£10到£18K之间,但怀孕期间平均约为£12k。 显然,取决于代理人的个人情况和家庭生活,有些可能更大。 通常在您的GTK(入门)开始时就讨论费用,这是您建立至关重要的基础的时间段,因为这是人生中最神奇的旅程。 无论哪种选择适合您,TS或GS都非常适合建立家庭,并创造我们都渴望的梦想。

其中一个挑战 英国代孕 是出生时的合法父母。 当孩子因英国代孕而出生时,代孕者是法定母亲,如果已婚,则其伴侣是合法父亲,无论其遗传如何。 即使使用供体配子进行代孕,她在出生时仍是合法父母。 拟定的父母必须等待六周零一天才能向法院提交父母令(PO),法院将对他们的案件进行审查并指派一名CAFCAS官员。 我们的PO在提交后大约11周就被批准了,所以当Talulah才5个月大时,她合法地属于我们,这在法庭上是个快乐的时刻,这是我们永远不会忘记的事情。

目前,英国代理人有六个月的撤回同意期,这在我们看来是不能接受的(除非存在严重的儿童福利问题),并且拟议的法律变更也将撤回期显着缩短至可能的6周。 但是,即使是6个星期也难道无法等待有目的地的父母紧张地保持平衡,用手指交叉祈祷各方之间的关系没有破裂,而最坏的情况发生了吗? 这些案件非常少见(在5年内,在英国约有30个高等法院案件),但值得一提的是,我们建议所有有意向的父母像我们一样在旅途开始时寻求法律指导。 拟议的变更还表明可能需要法律咨询,而且无论如何,实际上许多诊所实际上都要求将此作为标准做法。 我们使用了JMW Law的Beverly Jones的服务,他是利物浦著名的家庭律师,也是英国代孕专家。 在英国,代孕申请的数量继续稳步增长,而代孕的人数却逐年增长,而且这种情况预计只会增加。

大多数人还问,他们甚至在英国开始探索代孕,或者您甚至开始与代孕者谈话,除了我们为“预期父亲”社区提供的服务(通过www.twodaddies.co.uk)外,还有许多出色的支持组织专门从事英国代孕业务的公司,都是非营利组织,我们主要与之合作的组织是英国代孕业务,尽管还有其他两种选择,其中之一就是辉煌的开端。 但是,如果与您的代理机构合作不是您的事,那么您可以像我们一样“独自行动”并独立进行代孕,每年还有数百对新人。 您只需要明智,准备充分并配备最佳建议即可。

由于目前在英国刊登广告代孕广告是违法的,因此代孕广告通常会以“非牟利”的方式获取信息或通过网络中某人的密友或亲戚进行推荐。 考虑到IP与代理人的比例,您无法为代理人做广告是一个挑战。 我们花了多年时间研究最安全的独立选项,并发现一些知名的在线社交社区(例如Facebook封闭小组和SurrogateFinder.com)对于我们来说是一个很好的起点,但前提是还要考虑所有其他重要的准备工作。 英国代孕组织也定期为会员和非会员定期举办社交活动,这非常受欢迎。

我们在代孕信息活动中共享了与此类似的信息,最近一次是在XNUMX月,这是一次售罄并专门为目标父亲设计的信息。 但是,如果您无法参加会议或正在考虑代孕,我们已经建立了许多网络和联系方式,没有什么能给我们带来极大的愉悦,因为我们无法提供更多支持,请联系Michael或Wes.

Surrogacy in the UK is a topic most tend to shy away from, and I feel this social awkwardness is down to a lack of understanding. What is Surrogacy? Which countries can practice in this beautiful act of kindness and selflessness?  

If you’ve ever read any of our blogs or have been following our TwoDads.U.K social channels you would have seen that we’re passionate about Surrogacy. It brings dreams to reality, it builds families and it completes those who felt they had a missing piece. I’ve seen and witnessed the effects of the joy, love and happiness it can bring, and similar to some of the challenges with infertility, being gay used to come with challenges and pain of its own when it comes to the pursuit of fatherhood. Heartache, devastation, a feeling of being incomplete and utter sadness are all emotions I’ve experienced whilst on our fertility journey.

As part of the work we do myself and Wes speak at events, up and down the country. The Royal College of Nursing, fertility conferences and large corporates such as HSBC, are just a few of who we’ve presenting to.  We love educating others about UK Surrogacy, and Same Sex Parenting, and most people we speak to normally shy away from the topic of Surrogacy. It’s either something that’s incredibly curious or is something that can be uncomfortable to talk about. With more TV Production companies making documentaries at the moment about Surrogacy, and more TV Dramas announcing Surrogacy themes in their script writing, even BBC Radio is covering a story in The Archers, it’s clear that surrogacy is being more openly discussed.  Even the extreme end of the scale, Margaret Atwoods novel has been adapted for TV, The Handmaids Tail, the dystopian drama has made a comeback. And this is a reminder of what Surrogacy is not. So, I thought it fitting that I write about the beauty of Altruistic Surrogacy here in the UK, and bust some of those myths.

The frustrating issue is, surrogacy is currently underpinned by an outdated law, first published back in the 80’s following the first commercial surrogacy arrangement in the UK, and at the height of Section 28 making its mark (if you’re gay or an ally to the LGBTQ community you’ll know exactly how horrific that was),  it’s therefore no major surprise that gay couples weren’t allowed to apply for a parental order until 2010.

It’s called ‘The Surrogacy Arrangements Act of 1985’.  It’s fairly inflexible and obviously hasn’t fully moved with the times, although there have been a few tweaks here and there thanks to campaigning and legal challenges by the likes of Natalie Gamble from NGA Law. The law is currently under reform and the Law Commission and Scottish Law Commission have published a consultation paper on proposed changes for England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales. 

The consultation, all 475 pages is a thorough piece of work, doing its best to be inclusive and modern, paying respect to both intended parents and surrogates. There have been a series of engaging consultation meetings at every corner of the UK, several attended by me as an observer and recently as a contributor at their London event along with other Surrogacy advocates and allies.  The consultation events were well attended and had members present from within the Surrogacy community and those who are opposed to it, it made for some very interesting debates – and I’m pleased to report feedback was mostly positive.  The general public have been able to contribute to the consultation which ended on the 11th October, and its likely this won’t get to Parliament until late 2020.

It may sound odd to point this out but surrogacy in the U.K is not illegal, despite what the perception may be, certainly some of the events we’ve spoken at believed UK Surrogacy was in fact illegal. Whilst commercial surrogacy in the UK is illegal, Altruistic Surrogacy is practiced freely in the UK. Fertility Clinics tend to mainly offer Host or Gestational Surrogacy (usually with donor eggs) supported by reputable, Surrogacy programs.

The Alternative to Host Surrogacy is Traditional Surrogacy, often practiced outside clinics using home insemination methods and therefore less regulated and lower odds of pregnancy vs. a FET with a 5 Day Blastocyst. Reasons for choosing Tradition Surrogacy (TS) or Gestational Surrogacy (GS) may come down to a number of factors.  These may be budget, (total costs for UK Surrogacy ranges from £10k – 35K on average, the later being a GS journey with donor eggs and surrogates expenses), Surrogates circumstances or perhaps the overall Intended Parents preferences. Intended Parents can cover the cost of reasonable expenses of their surrogate, which is paid in approximately ten equal installments, following a confirmed pregnancy.  Surrogates expenses vary between £10k – £18k based on the individual, but on average are around £12k for the pregnancy term. Some can obviously be greater depending on the surrogate’s personal situation and home life. Expenses are usually discussed at the beginning of your GTK (Getting to Know), the period of time where your building the crucial foundation, as the most of amazing journey of lives unfold.  Whichever option works for you, TS or GS both are perfectly adequate at producing a family, and creating those dreams we’ve all yearned for.  

One of the challenges with UK Surrogacy is who is the legal parent at birth.  When a child is born as a result of UK Surrogacy the Surrogate is the Legal Mother, and if married her partner is the legal father, regardless of genetics.  Even when a surrogate using donor gametes, she is still the legal parent at birth. Intended Parents have to wait six weeks and one day to submit a parental order (PO) to the courts, where their case is examined and a CAFCAS Officer is assigned. Our PO was then granted around 11 weeks after our submission, so by the time Talulah was 5 months old, she was legally ours and it was a joyous occasion in Court, something we’ll never forget.  

A UK Surrogate currently has a period of six months to withdraw consent which in our opinion is unacceptable (unless there are serious child welfare issues), and the proposed law changes have also significantly reduced this to a possible 6 weeks.  But is even 6 weeks too agonizing to wait for Intended Parents, nervously poised, with fingers crossed praying the relationship between all parties doesn’t break down and the worst happens? These cases are very rare (around 5 High Court cases in the UK in 30 years) but it’s worth mentioning we advise all Intended Parents to seek legal guidance at the start of your journey like we did. The proposed changes also suggest legal advice may be a necessity, and many clinics are actually asking for this as standard practice now anyway.  We used the services of Beverly Jones from JMW Law who is a renowned Family Lawyer based in Liverpool and UK Surrogacy expert too. Parental order applications continue to steadily rise in the UK, year on year growth with respect to Surrogacy births – and this is only expected to rise.

Most people also ask where they even begin exploring Surrogacy in the UK or how do you even begin talking to surrogates, apart from our services to the Intended Father community (via www.twodaddies.co.uk) there are a number of excellent supportive organisation specialising in UK Surrogacy, all are Not For Profit and the one organisation we work with mostly is Surrogacy UK although there are a couple of other alternatives one being Brilliant Beginnings. However, if working with an agency isn’t your thing, you can ‘go alone’ and navigate your way around Surrogacy independently like we did, and hundreds of other couples do each year.  You just need to be sensible, well prepared and equipped with the best advice.

As it’s currently illegal to advertise for surrogates in the UK, Surrogates often approach the ‘not for profits’ for information or are referred via a close friend or family member of someone from within the network. The fact you can’t advertise for a surrogate is a challenge, given the ratio of IP’s to Surrogates. We spent years researching the safest independent options and found that some of the reputable online networking communities (such as Facebook Closed Groups, and SurrogateFinder.com) were an excellent starting point for us, providing all the other important preparation was factored in too. Surrogacy UK also have regular weekly networking events for members and non-members too which are very popular. 

We have shared information similar to this at our Surrogacy Information Events, the most recently was in October which again was a sell out and designed exclusively for Intended Fathers.  However if you weren’t able to attend or if you are considering exploring surrogacy, we have developed a number of networks and contacts and nothing would give us great pleasure in extending our support, please contact Michael or Wes.