在过去十年中,我遇到的数十个代理人中有许多人具有一个共同的特征-拒绝放弃。 凯特·弗林·史密斯(Kate Fruin-Smith)是一个很好的例子。

凯特(Kate)最初居住在约克郡,当时大约31岁。 出于自身需要,她有动力去做。 精子供体 作为一对女同性恋夫妇的一半。 带孩子去别人那里是回馈的一种方式。

代孕小组称这些安排为“旅程”,因为他们在如此复杂的计划中起伏不仅仅需要情感成熟,而且需要毅力。 凯特承认:“你经历了那么多高潮。” “因此,这成为了您一起前进的旅程”。

“代孕母亲,这不是我喜欢的短语”,凯特·弗鲁因-史密斯(Kate Fruin-Smith)承认。 “我不是那个孩子的母亲”,她更喜欢美国的术语“携带者”。

凯特(Kate)的第一个代孕对象是她通过社交媒体小组认识的一对夫妻。 他们相识超过九个月。 凯特然后花了六个月才怀孕。 她选择了直接(或传统)代孕方式,这意味着她不仅捐赠了子宫,还捐赠了鸡蛋。

但是,事情没有按计划进行。 怀孕后,凯特(Kate)经历了椎间盘打滑,几个月无法动弹。 那是一次难以置信的艰难怀孕。 然而,回顾过去,凯特丝毫不后悔,“看到它改变了接收者的生活-有些事情值得冒险”,她耸了耸肩。

我问凯特(Kate)是否担心与她所携带的孩子发生联系,因为这可能是她的遗传。 “与孩子结合永远不会动我的脑海。” 凯特(Kate)从出生就成为伴侣丽贝卡(Rebecca)的孩子的父母,他解释说:“这不是家庭的DNA,而是父母的父母身份。”

在第一次成功的旅程之后,凯特(Kate)仍然觉得自己有更多的奉献精神,并在2016年结识了另一对英国夫妇特蕾西与皮特(Tracey&Pete),这再次导致了健康的出生。 那个旅程使全球 新闻头条 早在2017年XNUMX月,一个故事揭示了特雷西和皮特(Tracy&Pete)成功与两个英国代理人成功合作的故事。

到目前为止,凯特(Kate)被英国代孕社区深深吸引,在Facebook上共同主持了一个非常受欢迎的独立代孕支持小组。 她为一对男同性恋夫妇进行了家庭授精-一次失败的旅程,然后使用英国一对印度裔夫妇的最后一个胚胎进行代孕-再次失败。

在2019年XNUMX月,凯特(Kate)提议带走杰森(Jason),这是她在社区中认识多年的单身英国男人。 英国刚刚通过了一项法律,允许单身预期父母在国内获得代孕权。 然而,修订后的英国法律对于英国诊所来说太新了,无法为单身男性制定可行的协议。 因此,杰森(Jason)选择了在塞浦路斯进行试管婴儿和胚胎移植-考虑到其承受能力和流程更快,这是一个受欢迎的选择。 第一次约会 英国诊所 可能需要六个星期的时间来安排。

到现在为止,凯特自己的卵太老了,无法生存。 杰森可以选择相对便宜的诊所捐助者,但这将是匿名交易。 杰森(Jason)首选一位已知的捐助者。 这将花费更多的钱,并且意味着要从南非赶出一个捐助者,但是对于杰森来说,这意味着他能够在塞浦路斯遇到他的捐助者。 取卵和试管婴儿后,杰森很高兴得知他有六个活胚。

对于承运人而言,海外转运在后勤上可能会很困难–他们在塞浦路斯的诊所希望凯特在其出院后两天进行超声波检查,然后再前往转运。 事实证明,要找到一个可以容纳这一点的约克郡设施是不可能的-因此,杰森组织凯特前往伦敦的超声设施。 结果很好,两人飞往塞浦路斯进行了四天的旅行。

胚胎移植一周后,血液检查结果显示阳性妊娠。 杰森谨慎地充满希望。

但是到了第12天,凯特的怀孕标记骤然下降。 目前尚不清楚发生了什么。 杰森(Jason)仍然充满希望,但随着不确定性持续数周,他知道这是一次健康怀孕的机会正在下降。

经过四周的不确定性过山车,杰森和凯特(Jason&Kate)前往罗瑟勒姆(Rotherham)进行了扫描。 杰森(Jason)的最后希望破灭了-诊断为异位妊娠-这种病使凯特(Kate)除非经过治疗,否则将面临输卵管破裂的严重危险。 凯特躺在床上休息。 甲氨蝶呤注射终止了妊娠,但有发生严重副作用的风险。 凯特需要持续监控-仍有破裂的风险。 最终,凯特花了八个星期的时间休假。

她承认:“这是一个可怕的几个月”,这不仅是因为她觉得自己正在让自己的同事失望。 她的伴侣丽贝卡(Rebecca)帮助凯特(Kate)前进,英国代孕社区也是如此,她是其中至关重要的一部分。

现在已经发生过一次,再次发生异位的风险更高。 而且医生告诉凯特,她需要至少等待三个月才能进行进一步尝试。 然而,她仍然不为所动。 凯特(Kate)坚持要为她的朋友杰森(Jason)进行进一步的调动。

幸运的是,杰森(Jason)能够弥补凯特(Kate)额外的工资损失,但代孕小组中,预定的父母在财务上准备不足。 杰森(Jason)做过研究,非常清楚事情会出问题–他从未考虑过异位妊娠。

面对损失,他们的关系如何蓬勃发展? 双方都认为沟通和信任至关重要。

并非所有旅程都有这样的考验。 Adam&Fionnuala最近在 希腊。 理查德(Richard)和达里奥(Dario)在美国拥有丰富的经验。 他们只是代孕者和父母的一部分,他们将在16年2019月XNUMX日在伦敦举行的“成长中的家庭”研讨会上分享他们在英国,希腊,美国,乌克兰和塞浦路斯的非凡的亲子之旅。类似的研讨会将在都柏林,柏林和斯德哥尔摩举行同一周。

详细信息在 https://www.growingfamilies.org/

喜欢这篇文章? 注册我们的时事通讯 将新闻直接发送到您的收件箱。

The stubborn persistence of Surrogates

Many of the dozens of surrogates I have encountered over the last decade share a common trait – a refusal to give up. Kate Fruin-Smith is a great example.

Yorkshire-based, Kate was about 31 when she first looked into surrogacy. She was motivated to do so by her own need for a sperm donor as one half of a lesbian couple. Carrying a child for someone else would be a way of giving back.

Surrogacy teams call these arrangements ‘journeys’ because they ups and downs of such complex birth plans require not only emotional maturity but perseverance. “You go through so many highs and lows” Kate admits. “So it becomes a journey you go on together”.

“Surrogate Mother it’s not a phrase I like” Kate Fruin-Smith admits. “I’m not a mother of that child” She prefers the US terminology ‘carrier’.

Kate’s first surrogacy involved a recipient couple she met via social media groups. They grew to know each other over nine months. Kate then took six months to fall pregnant. She opted for straight (or traditional) surrogacy meaning she donated not just her womb but her eggs. However things did not go to plan. Once pregnant, Kate experienced a slipped disc so was immobile for months. It was an incredibly tough pregnancy. Yet looking back on it, Kate has no regrets, “seeing the difference it made in her recipients lives – Some things are worth the risk” she shrugs.

I ask Kate did she worry about bonding with the child she was carrying, given it would be genetically hers. “Bonding with the child never crossed my mind.” Having parented her partner Rebecca’s child from birth, Kate explains that “it’s not the DNA that makes that family, it’s parenthood.”

After her first successful journey, Kate still felt she had more to give and met another UK couple Tracey & Pete in 2016, which again led to a healthy birth. That journey made global headlines back in March 2017, when a story that revealed Tracy & Pete worked successfully with two UK surrogates simultaneously.

By now Kate was ensconced in the UK surrogacy community, co-moderating a very popular independent surrogacy support group on Facebook. She undertook home insemination for a gay male couple – an unsuccessful journey, followed by gestational surrogacy using the last embryo of a UK couple of Indian heritage – again it was unsuccessful.

In March 2019 Kate offered to carry for Jason, a single UK man she had known for years through the community. The UK had just passed a law allowing single intended parents to access surrogacy domestically. Yet the revised UK law was too new for the UK clinics to have workable protocols for a single male. So Jason opted for the IVF & embryo transfer to occur in Cyprus – a popular choice given its affordability and quicker processes. A first appointment in a UK clinic can take six weeks to arrange.

By now Kate’s own eggs were too old to be viable.  Jason had the choice of a relatively inexpensive clinic donor – but this would be an anonymous exchange. Jason preferred a known donor. It would cost substantially more, and meant flying a donor from South Africa, but for Jason it meant he was able to meet his donor in Cyprus. Following egg retrieval and IVF, Jason was excited to learn he had six viable embryos.

Overseas transfers can be logistically hard for the carrier – their Cyprus clinic wanted Kate to undertake an ultrasound two days after her period, before travelling for transfer. Finding a Yorkshire facility that would accommodate this proved impossible  – so instead Jason organised for Kate to travel to a London ultrasound facility. The results were good and the pair flew to Cyprus for a four day trip.

A week later their embryo transfer, the blood results showed a positive pregnancy. Jason was cautiously hopeful.

But by Day 12 Kate’s markers for pregnancy had plummeted. It was unclear what was happening. Jason remained hopeful, but as weeks of uncertainty wore on, he knew the chances this was a healthy pregnancy were declining.

After a four week rollercoaster of uncertainty, Jason & Kate travelled to Rotherham for a scan. Jason’s last shreds of hope drained away – an ectopic pregnancy was diagnosed – a condition that put Kate in grave danger of a fallopian tube rupture unless treated. Kate was put on bed-rest. A methotrexate injection terminated the pregnancy, but came with the risk of intense side effects.  Kate needed continuous monitoring – there  was still a risk of a rupture. Ultimately Kate spent eight weeks off work.

“It’s been a horrible couple of months” she admits, not least because she felt she was letting down her workmates. Her partner Rebecca helped Kate through, as did the UK surrogacy community she is such a vital part of.

Now it has happened once, there is a higher risk of another ectopic. And the doctors have told Kate she needs to wait at least three months before a further attempt. Yet she remains undeterred. Kate is adamant she will undertake a further transfer for her friend Jason.

Fortunately Jason has been able to cover Kate’s additional lost wages, but there have been surrogacy teams where the intended parents are financially ill-prepared. Jason had done his research and knew all too well that things can go wrong – he had just never contemplated ectopic pregnancy.

How has their relationship thrived in the face of loss? Both agree that communication and trust are essential.

Not all journeys have such ordeals. Adam & Fionnuala engaged recently in surrogacy in Greece. Richard and Dario had a great experience in the US. They are just some of the surrogates and parents who will share their extra-ordinary journeys to parenthood in the UK, Greece, USA, Ukraine and Cyprus at Growing Families upcoming seminar in London on 16 November 2019. Similar seminars will run in Dublin, Berlin and Stockholm the same week.

Details at https://www.growingfamilies.org/2019-conference-and-event-schedule

The stubborn persistence of Surrogates
Sam Everinghamhttps://www.growingfamilies.org
Sam is the founder of Growing Families, previously known as Families Through Surrogacy . He and his partner have two girls born via international surrogacy in 2011. Sam has been involved in family formation journeys for over eight years
The stubborn persistence of Surrogates