代理法改革是我们对NGA法律和辉煌起点的热情超过12年。 我们是第一个呼吁英国的声音 代孕m,我们为游说和诉讼迈出了重要一步,其中包括代表英国的第一批获得父母监护权的父母 国际代孕 2008年,在2010年为议会争取同性伴侣享有平等的父母身份,在2015年成功开展了一场针对预期父母的产假权利运动,并赢得了一项人权法院的裁决,该裁决在2019年结束了对单身父母的歧视。

但是,尽管这些都是朝着正确方向迈出的一步,但英国正处在一个真正的巨大飞跃的边缘。 法律委员会 政府是一个审查过时法律的独立机构,去年被政府要求审查英国代孕法律,并于XNUMX月发布了临时建议。 这些激动人心的建议建议对代孕法律进行全面改革,其中包括:

  • 拟议的英国代孕安排的新“途径”(前提是有书面协议,筛查,影响咨询,法律建议以及受监管的英国代孕组织或生育诊所的参与)将认可预期的父母为子女的合法父母从出生。 在这种新途径中,代孕协议将不会产生合同效力(除了代孕人的费用/赔偿方面),因为代孕人将在分娩后的短期内保留反对的权利,但法律将承认预定的父母为父母。在绝大多数没有争议的情况下,合法父母会自动处理(并允许家庭法院决定在极少发生争议的情况下如何处理)
  • 建立国家代孕登记册,以为代孕人保存有关其遗传和妊娠起源的信息
  • 国务卿有权决定其他哪个国家/地区拥有代孕法律,从而充分保护所有涉案人员,因此,如果英国父母在这些国家/地区通过国际代孕而生,则他们也将成为英国的合法父母。
  • 改进和简化现有的父母秩序和移民程序的改进,对于那些通过自动代孕途径之外的代孕家庭来说,这仍将是这些家庭的安全网。

这些建议绝不是一项已完成的工作,它们是暂定的建议,可能仍会更改,即使这些建议最终确定,也仍然需要议会通过法律。 因此,还有很长的路要走,这就是为什么我们需要那些支持代孕或受代孕影响的人作出积极回应,给予支持,分享经验并帮助法律委员会设计可行的法律,从而议会有信心颁布这项法律。

该法律最有可能引起争议的问题是法律应如何规定向英国代理人付款。 法律委员会尚未对此提出意见,但列出了代孕付款的不同类别,并询问如果存在限制,法律将如何实施任何限制。 人们普遍认为,目前的支出框架尚不明确,而且由于家庭法院始终将儿童的最大利益放在首位,因此实际上并没有规定限制。 法律委员会研究了2015年至2019年之间的法院申请,发现实际上为代孕服务支付的费用范围很广,从一项代孕费用为470英镑的家庭代孕到超过10英镑的案件的20,000%支付了XNUMX。 他们报告说,“很少”的父母订单申请书中详细列出了支付的数字,通常一开始就商定一整笔款项,根本没有细分。 声称的具体“费用”清单还包括补偿性物品,例如胚胎移植的固定费用,多胎分娩和剖腹产,产后假期和礼物。

At 辉煌的开端,我们采取务实的态度,并认为该法律应反映英国代孕在当地如何运作的现实。 我们认为法律必须保持其当前的灵活性,但必须具有更大的透明度,以避免当前框架所鼓励的模糊性。 我们不认为该规则应收紧以减少英国代理人已经收到的款项,并且我们现实认为该法律没有任何实际权力来限制私人之间的支付。 如果代孕人和她的预定父母同意赔偿的内容(许多人目前这样做,而且通常是一个很好的承认),我们认为法律应使他们能够诚实,公开地这样做,而不是根据赔偿金来捏造或付款。表。 法律委员会并未提出商业代孕模式,因为具有可强制执行的合同和代理机构可从代孕安排中受益,我们认为无需更改该原则。 但是我们认为,更诚实的赔偿方法既实用又与我们在英国的无私代孕文化兼容,特别是考虑到在拟议的新制度下,适当的保障措施将有助于确保没有人被利用。

关于代孕法律的改变,以更快地将有意的父母识别为合法父母,有广泛的共识(当然是在代孕社区内部)。 目前,代理人和她的配偶始终是孩子的合法父母,并且需要6到12个月的时间才能通过父母命令将合法父母身份转移给预定的父母。 这不符合任何人的利益–不管是父母,代孕人,还是最重要的是,在没有法律责任的父母的照顾下,处于法律困境的孩子。 在国际代孕案件中,这导致儿童在出生后几个月被困在海外,还有许多其他问题,包括在谁可以接受医疗方面存在困难。

同时,法律委员会希望保护和平衡所有有关方面的利益。 这就是为什么它建议要求代孕安排者采取明智的步骤,以确保他们充分了解情况并为这一过程作好准备,包括法律咨询和咨询。 这将减少仓促或不知情的代孕安排的可能性,并防止任何一方利用对方的优势。

出于同样的原因,法律委员会建议对第三方中介机构进行适当的监管,并保持非营利性,并应在评估可能出生的孩子的福利方面发挥作用。

Surrogacy law reform has been our passion at NGA Law and Brilliant Beginnings for more than 12 years. We were the first UK voice to call for surrogacy reform and we have contributed to many steps forward through our lobbying and litigation, including representing the first UK parents to get a parental order after international surrogacy in 2008, fighting for equal parenthood for same-sex couples in Parliament in 2010, running a successful campaign for maternity leave rights for intended parents in 2015 and winning a human rights court ruling which ended discrimination against single parents in 2019.

But while these have been steps in the right direction, the UK is on the verge of a truly giant leap. The Law Commission – an independent body which reviews outdated laws – was asked by the government last year to review UK surrogacy law and in June it published its provisional recommendations.  These exciting proposals suggest a wholesale reform of the law on surrogacy, including:

  • a proposed new ‘pathway’ for UK surrogacy arrangements which (provided there is a written agreement, screening, implications counselling, legal advice and the involvement of a regulated UK surrogacy organisation or fertility clinic) will recognise intended parents as the legal parents of their child from birth.  In this new pathway, surrogacy agreements will not be contractually enforceable (other than in respect of the surrogate’s expenses/compensation) since surrogates will retain a right to object for a short period after the birth, but the law will recognise the intended parents as the legal parents automatically in the overwhelming majority of cases where there is no dispute (and allow the family court to decide what happens if, rarely, there is a dispute)
  • the creation of a national surrogacy register to preserve information for surrogate-born people about their genetic and gestational origins
  • the Secretary of State given the power to decide which other countries have surrogacy laws which adequately protect all involved, so that if UK parents have children born through international surrogacy in those countries they will be the legal parents from birth in the UK too
  • improvements to modernise and streamline the existing parental order and immigration processes, which will remain as a safety net for those families through surrogacy who fall outside the new automatic recognition pathways.

The recommendations are by no means a done deal – they are tentative suggestions which might yet be changed, and even once the proposals are finalised they will still need to be made law by Parliament.  So there is a long way to go, and that is why we need those who support surrogacy or have been affected by it to respond positively, to give their support, to share their experiences and to help the Law Commission design workable law which will give Parliament confidence to enact it.

The issue most likely to be controversial is what the law should say about payments to UK surrogates. The Law Commission does not yet give a view on this but sets out different categories of payments to surrogates, and asks how the law could enforce any restrictions if there are limits. There is broad agreement that the current expenses framework is unclear, and in practice limits are not enforced since the family court always prioritises the child’s best interests.  The Law Commission looked at the court applications made between 2015 and 2019 and found a broad range of payments to surrogates in practice, from one family surrogacy in which the surrogate was paid expenses of £470 to the 10% of cases in which more than £20,000 was paid. ‘Very few’ parental order applications, they reported, contained a detailed itemised breakdown of the figure paid and frequently a round sum was agreed at the outset with no breakdown at all. The list of specific ‘expenses’ which were claimed also included compensatory items like flat fees for embryos transfers, multiple births and caesareans, post-birth holidays and gifts.

At Brilliant Beginnings, we take a pragmatic approach and think the law should reflect the reality of how UK surrogacy works on the ground.  We think the law must keep its current flexibility but with more transparency so as to avoid the murkiness that the current framework encourages. We do not think the rules should tighten up to reduce what UK surrogates already receive, and we are realistic that the law has no real power to limit what is paid between private individuals anyway.  If a surrogate and her intended parents agree an element of compensation (which many currently do, and often as a lovely acknowledgment), we think the law should enable them to do so honestly and openly, rather than to fudge it or make payments under the table. The Law Commission is not proposing a commercial surrogacy model, with enforceable contracts and agencies which profit from arranging surrogacy and we see no need for that principle to be changed.  But we think a more honest approach to compensation is both pragmatic and compatible with our altruistic surrogacy culture in the UK, particularly given that under the proposed new system proper safeguards will help make sure that no one is taken advantage of.

There is a broad consensus – certainly within the surrogacy community – about the need to change the law on parenthood to recognise intended parents as legal parents more quickly.  At the moment, the surrogate and her spouse are always the child’s legal parents and it takes 6-12 months to transfer legal parenthood to the intended parents via a parental order. This is not in anyone’s interests – not the parents, the surrogate nor most importantly the child who is left in legal limbo in the care of parents who have no legal responsibility.  In international surrogacy cases it results in children being stranded overseas for months after they are born, and there are many other issues, including difficulties over who can consent to medical treatment.

At the same time, the Law Commission wants to protect and balance the interests of all involved.  That is why it proposes requiring those entering into surrogacy arrangements to take sensible steps to ensure they are fully informed and prepared for the process, including legal advice and counselling.  This will reduce the likelihood of rushed or ill-informed surrogacy arrangements, and protect against either side taking advantage of the other.

For the same reason, the Law Commission recommends that third party intermediaries should be properly regulated and remain non-profit making, and that they should play a role in assessing the welfare of the child who may be born.