对我来说,成为爸爸(迈克尔)是我成年后曾经有过的最重要的愿望之一,另一个无疑是获得2001年凯莉(Kylie)的“像这样的夜晚”巡回演出的门票。

他们都实现了,但育儿的事情绝对胜过凯莉。 除了2001年的Kylie对我而言意义重大的一年,那是我嫁给一个女人后出来的那一年,Kylie的演唱会就像我的归来,我的生命被搁置了22年。 因此,在一段短暂的婚姻之后,我决定勇敢地做自己,成为自己,成为我和我的前妻,我不得不为了拥有自己的家人而不得不道别,这是一种折衷在22岁那年还没有孩子,那时候,我不知道有没有同性恋,并且当时有孩子,这似乎并不存在,或者我只是不知道。

快进到2012年6月,我单身,在伯明翰的同性恋骄傲节(Birmingham Gay Pride),碰巧在酒吧另一端给一个人打钟。 韦斯 来自赫尔的厚脸皮的北方人,我立即需要和他交谈。 所以我做了,六个月后我们订婚,结婚十八个月后。 简单。 您知道,Wes以前也曾与一个女人结婚,但是Wes有一个女儿,我们见面时才18岁,是一位伟大的父亲,所以我知道他也是一位出色的育儿老师。 Wes和我很早就讨论过孩子,因为我的愿望并未消失,实际上我提到在在一起的头三个月内想要孩子,所以我们讨论了所有可用的选择,并研究了国际代孕,之后7经过多年的研究,我们决定通过代孕建立家庭,但就英国而言; 感觉很对。

我们的旅程始于2015年,当时我们遇到了代理人,并在10个月后认识了她和家人。 从2015年2016月开始治疗,到3年2016月,我们创建了胚胎,并移植了漂亮的胚泡,并冷冻了另外XNUMX个。 我们是幸运的人之一,我们的调动很成功,塔卢拉(Talulah)于XNUMX年XNUMX月抵达–毫无疑问,这是我一生中最美好的一天。

塔卢拉(Talulah)眨眼

所以您可能想知道过程是什么样的? 我们的治疗顺利吗? 多少 胚泡 我们得到了吗? 这个贵吗? 旅程花了多长时间? 您如何找到英国代理人? 所有完全有效的询问性问题–我很乐意回答所有这些问题,而我们的博客也愿意回答。 但是,我们提出的最常见的问题很简单。

“谁是爸爸?”

对。 从表面上看,对于一个异性恋夫妇来说,我想提出的问题似乎很公平。 但是,直到您将其分解或与“约翰和简”的情况进行比较之后,它才会显得奇怪,粗鲁和有点进攻性。

想像一下,您在怀特罗斯(Waitrose)(或您选择的一家超市,我不会判断)和您的工作同事,让她叫简,在冷冻室碰到您,显然是在向她介绍“约翰”丈夫,您从未见过面,所以您说“嗨”。 她很快又兴奋地告诉你她怀孕了。

你呢;

A:恭喜她,给她一个亲吻的脸颊
B:向他们俩表示祝贺(也许不去接吻)
C:问她约翰的父亲吗?

看到。 这很奇怪,有点粗鲁,实际上,这与您无关。 如果我想谈论我在怀特罗斯的精子,我会的。 但是大多数时候,我可能不会害怕被要求离开。

事情还没到此结束,人们觉得他们可以问两个家伙,在成为新爸爸时,他们会提出一些最奇怪,最坦率的侮辱性问题,尤其是通过 代孕。 我们不再为此感到冒犯,因为大多数问题都归因于人们对英国代孕知识的了解不足,如果真相是众所周知的,这就是我们做自己正在做的事情的部分原因。

塔卢拉花园
问“谁是爸爸”或“您使用了谁的精子!?” 在与他们见面的前30分钟内,陌生人可能会问我们最常见的问题。 让我们回到简和约翰,并澄清一下她最近的宣布。

……'那是约翰的精子简吗?' 问他是否完全隐形!

瞧,这很奇怪,至少可以说让Jane看起来有些杂乱! 😉

我们很高兴回答这个问题,但是直到最近,当我将它与我们实际认为“坚持下去,并不是真的”的“直接”情况进行比较时,才提出这个问题。 那是您正在讨论的精子。

事情并不仅止于此,我认为人们看到两个男孩抱着一个婴儿时仍然感到好奇,因此,无论是紧张还是出于好奇,他们都觉得有必要向我们提问。 UK Society接受像我们这样的家庭,通过我们在网站www.twodaddies.co.uk和社交媒体频道@ twodads.uk上所做的所有工作,我们在整个生育过程中都写了博客,记录了高潮和低谷。 我们已经看到98%的人对我们的工作和主张表示支持。 我们永远不会转换2%,因此我们只需要面对事实。 我们旨在聚焦于英国代孕和同性育儿,使其规范化,或者至少通过向他人介绍我们自己的现代家庭,使之变得普通。 因此,这可能是陌生人实际上问过的一些其他问题,我可能会补充,我会慢慢打扰您。

  • 您要给妈妈休息吗?
  • 你为什么不收养
  • 您如何决定使用谁的精子?
  • 谁是爸爸?
  • (通常会追随上一个问题)…是的,但是谁是“真正的爸爸!”
  • “妈妈”是谁做的!!
  • 把婴儿从母亲身边带走,您是否感到难过?
  • 你会抚养她的同性恋吗? (实际上是有人问这个!)
  • 她花了多少钱?

塔卢拉鞋
尽管听起来有些令人震惊,但我从一个快乐的地方写了这篇文章。 我认为可以公平地说,大多数人看到我们的真实身份。 您会发现,我们与您一样,我们彼此相爱,我们渴望成为父母,到达那里的过程需要一些干预,并且可能与您的情况有所不同,可能会很昂贵,也许充满压力和挑战,但这就是您的生育治疗。 我们第一次代孕之旅很幸运,我们在曼彻斯特关怀生育计划中取得了骄人的成绩,并将永远感谢那里的团队,随后顺利怀孕。

但是,在2018年夏季,运气并没有站在我们这一边。我们决定为塔卢拉(Talulah)争取一个兄弟或姐妹,我们的代孕人愿意为我们做另一趟旅程,而在2018年2018月,我们不幸转移了一个胚胎。经过两周的等待,我们知道它已经失败了,这给其他五个胚胎发育不足以致无法冷冻的情况增加了更多的痛苦和压力。 因此,我们只需要重新开始该过程即可。 因此,在更换了诊所和卵子捐赠者之后,我们决定根据其令人印象深刻的HFEA统计数据,在伦敦对CRGH进行更多治疗。 我们于4年XNUMX月(冻结了XNUMX个)转移了一个胚胎,两周后我们得到了每个预期父母希望得到的结果,我们很高兴我们期待一个小男孩在XNUMX月底到期。

我们的经验使我们对整个生育行业充满了绝对的热情,以至于我们正在帮助其他夫妇更多地了解英国代孕。 现在,我们与患者一起为诊所提供支持,并通过有时复杂的代孕网络帮助和指导预期的父母和父亲。 我们提高意识的使命之一是教育医疗保健专业人员关于代孕和预定父母的需求,皇家护理学院最近要求我们在其生育护士年度会议上发言,这是一项真正的特权,这是我们非常荣幸的事情。引以为傲。 我们甚至是伦敦The Barbican今年令人难以置信的生育节上的合作伙伴。 可以在Queer Family活动和Big Fat Festival Day看到我们。

我们没什么特别的,所以对于所有好奇的问题以及偶尔的凝视或评论,最终,我们都是一样的,去掉我们的性别,消除我们的性取向和我们家庭的生物学–我们只是父母,为人父母。

Twenty9Children和Twenty9的服装www.diffusiononline。co.uk/map/twenty9-children

摄影师:Marcello Di Torro instagram.com/rossoneri79

生育基金会提供的生育观察 shop.fertilityfoundation.org

Who's The Daddy?

Being a Dad for me (Michael) was one of the single most important desires I think I’ve ever quite possible had as an adult, the other was most definitely securing tickets to Kylie’s ‘On a Night Like This’ Stadium tour in 2001.

Whilst they were both achieved, the parenting thing definitely trumps Kylie. Kylie aside 2001 was a significant year for me, it was the year I came out after being married to a woman, the Kylie concert was like my homecoming and my arrival to the life I had put on hold for 22 years. So, after a short-lived marriage, I made the decision to be brave and be who I was, with the trade-off that I’d have to kiss goodbye to having a family of my own, as my ex-wife and I hadn’t had children at the ripe old age of 22. At the time, I didn’t know any gay guys that were coupled and had children back then, it just didn’t seem to exist – or I just wasn’t aware.

Fast forward to June 2012, I was single and at Birmingham Gay Pride and happened to clock a guy at the other end of the Bar; Wes. A cheeky northerner from Hull, I instantly needed to talk to him. So I did, 6 months later we’re engaged, 18 months after that we’re married. Simple. You see, Wes had also been married to a woman previously too but Wes had a daughter who was 7 when we met and is a great Father, so I knew he’d also be a great teacher of parenting. Wes and I discussed kids very early on in our relationship as my desire hadn’t disappeared, in fact I mentioned wanting children within the first 3 months of being together, so we discussed all the options available and looked into International Surrogacy, and after 3 years of research we decided on creating our family through Surrogacy but in the UK, as for us; it just felt right.

Our journey began in 2015 when we met our surrogate and after 10 months of getting to know her and family. In December 2015 treatment began and in February 2016 we had embryos created and had a beautiful blastocyst to transfer, with 3 others to freeze. We were one of the lucky ones and our transfer was a success and Talulah arrived in October 2016 – it was, without doubt, the best day of my life.

Talulah Winking

So you’re probably wondering what was the process like? How smooth was our treatment? How many Blastocysts did we get? Was it expensive? How long did the journey take? How do you find a UK Surrogate? All perfectly valid, inquisitive questions – and I’m happy to answer all of them and our blogs do. However, the most common question we get asked is quite simple;

‘Who’s the Daddy?’

Yup. On the face of it, to a heterosexual couple, it probably seems a fair question to ask I suppose. However, it’s not until you break it down, or compare it to a ‘John and Jane’ situation that it appears odd, rude maybe and a tad offensive.

Picture this, you’re in Waitrose (or a supermarket of your choice, I won’t judge) and your work colleague, let’s call her Jane, bumps into you in the freezer section, Obviously beaming she introduces you to ‘John’ her husband, who you’ve never met before, so you say ‘Hi’. She very quickly and excitedly tells you she’s pregnant.

Do you;

A: Congratulate her and give her a kiss on the cheek
B: Congratulate them both (maybe not go in for the kiss)
C: Ask her if John’s the father?

See. It’s just weird, and a tad rude and in actual fact, it’s none of your business. If I want to talk about my sperm in Waitrose I will. But most of the time, I probably won’t for fear of being asked to leave.

It doesn’t end there though, people feel like they can ask two guys some of the most bizarre and quite frankly insulting questions when it comes to being new Dads, especially via Surrogacy. We’re no longer offended by it because most of the questions are just down to people being poorly educated about Surrogacy in the UK, and if truth be known, that’s partly why we’re doing what we’re doing.

Talulah Garden
Asking ‘Who’s the Daddy’ or ‘Who’s sperm did you use!?’ Are possibly the most common questions we get asked by strangers within the first 30 mins of meeting them. Let’s go back to Jane and John, and just clarify her recent announcement.

…’so is it John’s sperm Jane?’ Asked as if he’s completely invisible!

See, its weird, and makes Jane look a little promiscuous to say the least! 😉

We’re happy to answer the question, however its only recently when I compared it to a ‘straight’ situation that we actually thought ‘hang on, that’s not really on’. That’s our sperm you’re discussing.

It doesn’t just end there though, I think people are curious still when they see two guys with a baby so whether its nerves or just pure curiosity they feel the need to ask us questions. UK Society is accepting of families like ours, and through all the work we do via blogging on our website www.twodaddies.co.uk and our social media channels @twodads.u.k. We blogged our entire fertility journey, documenting the highs and the lows. We’ve seen 98% support for what we do and what we stand for. We’ll never convert the 2% so we just have to face facts. We aim to shine a spotlight on UK Surrogacy and Same-Sex parenting, to normalise it – or at the very least to make it feel ordinary through educating others about our very own modern family. So, here’s some additional questions we’ve actually been asked, by strangers, I may add, I’ll break you in gently.

  • Are you giving the Mum a rest?
  • Why didn’t you adopt?
  • How did you decide who’s sperm to use?
  • Who’s the Daddy?
  • (Usually followers the previous question)…Yea OK, but who’s the ‘real Dad!’
  • Who does the ‘Mum’ jobs!?
  • Did you feel bad taking the baby away from her Mother?!
  • Will you raise her gay? (this was actually asked!)
  • How much did she cost?!

Talulah Shoes
As shocking as some of this may all sound, I write this piece from a happy place. I think it’s fair to say the majority of people see us for who we actually are. You see, we’re the same as you, we love each other and we have a desire to become parents, the journey to get there needs a bit of intervention, and may look a bit different to yours, it can be expensive, maybe be stressful and challenging, but that’s fertility treatment for you. We were lucky with our first Surrogacy journey, we had great results with Care Fertility Manchester and will be forever grateful to the team there, a smooth pregnancy followed.

However, luck wasn’t on our side in the Summer of 2018. We decided that we wanted a brother or sister for Talulah, our Surrogate had offered to do another journey for us, and in June 2018 we transferred one embryo, sadly after the two week wait we knew it had failed, to add more pain and stress to the situation our five other embryos didn’t develop enough to be frozen. So we were left needing to start the process all over again. So after a clinic and egg donor change, we decided to more our treatment to CRGH in London based on their impressive HFEA statistics. We transferred a single embryo in December 2018 (and froze 4) two weeks later we got the result every intended parent wishes for, and we’re delighted that we’re expecting a little boy in due at the end of August.

Our experience has left us with an absolute passion for the Fertility industry as a whole, so much so we’re helping other couples understand more about UK Surrogacy. We’re now supporting clinics with their patients and helping and guiding intended parents and fathers through the sometimes complex web of surrogacy. Part of our mission to raise awareness is to educate healthcare professionals about Surrogacy and the needs of intended parents, the Royal College of Nursing recently asked us to speak at their Fertility Nurses annual conference, which was a real privilege, and something we’re very proud of. We’re even partners at this year’s incredible Fertility Fest at The Barbican in London. The Queer Family event and The Big Fat Festival Day are the events where you’ll be able to see us.

We’re nothing particularly special, so for all the curious questions and the occasional stare or comment, at the end of the day we’re all absolutely the same, remove our gender, take away our sexual orientation and the biology of our family – we’re just parents, parenting.

Clothing by Twenty9Children & Twenty9 www.diffusiononline.co.uk/map/twenty9-children

Photographer: Marcello Di Torro instagram.com/rossoneri79

Fertility Watch provided by The Fertility Foundation shop.fertilityfoundation.org

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here